Research Topics

  • Additive manufacturing/3D printing
  • Advanced materials
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Automation and robotics
  • Construction materials
  • Data analytics
  • Digital manufacturing
  • Manufacturing monitoring prognosis and diagnostics
  • Manufacturing processes
  • Mechanical design
  • Nanotechnology
  • Photonics/optical sensors
  • Tissue engineering

Research Labs

Director: Xuan Song, assistant professor of industrial and systems engineering
Email: xuan-song@uiowa.edu
Phone: (319) 335-5680
Website: Additive Manufacturing-Integrated Product Realization Laboratory

Research topics: 

  • Additive manufacturing/3D printing
  • Advanced materials
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Automation and robotics
  • Data analytics
  • Digital manufacturing
  • Manufacturing monitoring prognosis and diagnostics
  • Manufacturing processes
  • Mechanical design
  • Nanotechnology
  • Tissue engineering
Researchers working with 3D printer

Director: Jennifer Fiegel, associate professor of chemical and biochemical engineering, associate professor of pharmaceutical sciences and experimental therapeutics
Email: jennifer-fiegel@uiowa.edu
Phone: (319) 335-5162
Website: Fiegel Lab

Research topic: Nanotechnology

Jennifer Fiegel and student working in the lab

Director: C. Allan Guymon, professor and chair of chemical and biomedical engineering
Email: allan-guymon@uiowa.edu
Phone: (319) 335-5015
Website: Guymon Research Group

Research topics:

  • Advanced materials
  • Nanotechnology
Guymon Lab group photo

Director: Hosin "David" Lee, professor of civil and environmental engineering, professor of the Public Policy Center
Email: hosin-lee@uiowa.edu
Phone: (319) 384-0831
Website: Laboratory for Advanced Construction Technology

Research topic: Construction materials

David Lee holds an award plaque

Director: Hongtao Ding, associate professor of mechanical engineering
Email: hongtao-ding@uiowa.edu
Phone: (319) 335-5674
Website: Laser Materials Processing Lab

Research topics:

  • Manufacturing monitoring prognosis and diagnostics
  • Manufacturing processes
LMPL researchers

Director: Shaoping Xiao, associate professor of mechanical engineering
Email: shaoping-xiao@uiowa.edu
Phone: (319) 335-6009
Website: Multiscale Computational Science and Engineering Laboratory

Shaoping Xiao provides a Kuka robot demonstration

Director: Al Ratner, associate professor of mechanical engineering
Email: albert-ratner@uiowa.edu
Phone: (319) 384-0883
Website: Ratner Research Group

Research topics: 

  • Advanced materials
  • Nanotechnology
Sazzad Parveg at Ratner Lab

Director: Christoph Beckermann, University of Iowa Foundation Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: (319) 335-5681
Email: christoph-beckermann@uiowa.edu
Website: Solidification Laboratory

Research topic: Manufacturing processes

Alloy study

Director: Syed Mubeen, assistant professor of chemical and biomedical engineering
Email: syed-mubeen@uiowa.edu
Phone: (319) 335-5813
Website: Syed Mubeen Research Group

Research topics: 

  • Advanced materials
  • Manufacturing processes
  • Nanotechnology
Mubeen Lab research photo (?)

Director: Fatima Toor, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, assistant professor of physics and astronomy
Email: fatima-toor@uiowa.edu
Phone: (319) 335-6071
Website: Toor Lab

Research topics: 

  • Advanced materials
  • Nanotechnology
  • Photonics/optical sensors
Fatima Toor with student researchers

Director: Kristan Worthington, assistant professor of biomedical engineering
Phone: (319) 335-5635
Email: kristan-worthington@uiowa.edu
Website: Worthington Lab

Research topics: 

  • Additive manufacturing/3D Printing
  • Advanced materials
  • Nanotechnology
  • Tissue engineering
Kristan Worthington talks to a researcher in her lab

Request more information